Panelists and Participants at the Symposium

The two-day symposium aimed at transforming the green revolution hub of India, organized by Dr GS Khush Foundation and PAU, in honor of Dr Darshan Singh Brar, concluded here today.

In accordance with the theme, ‘Innovations in Resource Management, the keynote speakers, Dr. Suresh Kumar Chaudhry, Deputy Director General, Natural Resource Management, ICAR and Dr Mangi Lal Jat, Global Research Programme Director for Resilient Farms and Food Systems, ICRISAT, dwelled on ecosystem sustainability and enhanced resilience of smallholder agriculture respectively. Dr BS Dhillon former PAU, Vice Chancellor chaired the session, while former PAU, Director of Extension Education, Dr Jaskarn Singh Mahal oversaw the session formalities. Talks on trends in farm mechanization in India and national nutrition security were given by Dr CR Mehta, Director, ICAR-CIAE, Bhopal and Dr Kiran Bains, Head Department of Food and Nutrition followed by panel presentations and discussion. The participants for the same included Dr Rajbir Singh, Director ICAR- Central Institute of Post- Harvest Engineering and Technology, Dr Nachiket Kotwaliwale, Director ICAR- Central Institute of Post Harvest Engineering and Technology, Dr Gurkanwal Singh, Former Director of Horticulture and Shri Prabhat Srivastva, Vice President, Jain Irrigation Systems Limited.

The latter part of the day focussed on the way forward for transforming the green revolution hub of the country with a special lecture on Sensing and Data Analytics for Smart Agriculture, delivered by Dr Rabi Narayan Sahoo from ICAR- IARI, New Delhi. The Co-Chairs included Dr Inderjeet Singh, Vice Chancellor, GADVASU, Ludhiana and Dr BR Kamboj , Vice Chancellor, CCS, HAU, Hisar. Dr Ajmer Singh Dhatt, Director of Research, PAU was the session coordinator. The second speaker, Dr Bhupendra Nath Tripathi, Deputy Director General, Animal Science, ICAR discussed agricultural diversification through innovations and policy support in small-scale livestock farming. The session panelists included former PAU Vice Chancellors, Dr KS Aulakh, Dr MS Kang and Dr BS Dhillon, former Chairman, ASRB, New Delhi, Dr Jeet Singh Sandhu, Vice Chancellor, SKN Agriculture University, Jobner, Rajasthan, Vice Chancellors of CCS-HAU and GBPUA&T, Pantnagar- Dr BR Kamboj and Dr AK Shukla, Dr Ashok Kumar, Director IARI, Dr Wasakha Singh Dhillon, Former ADG (Horticulture, ICAR), Dr Partha R Dasgupta, Advisor, Emeritus SYNGENTA Foundation for agriculture, Dr Ashok Kumar, Director, NBPGR, Dr Avtar Singh Dhindsa and other eminent scientists. The program concluded with discussions among experts and the audience followed by a sum-up by the Chairs.

The conferring of the Best Poster Award and Appreciation award ceremony was held during the valedictory session, followed by Vote of Thanks by PAU Registrar Dr Shammi Kapoor.

Following are the details of the Poster Competition:

Under theme 1, out of a total of 6 posters, winners of two best posters, Jiffinvir Singh Khosa, Karamvir Garcha and Ajmer Singh Dhatt, Buta Singh Dhillon, Raj Kumar, GS Romana, Rupinder Kaur, Renu Khanna, Navjot Sidhu and RS Gill were awarded. Under theme 2, out of a total of 84 posters, winners of 3 best posters bagged the prizes, vis a vis Bukke Kutti Bai, Alin Maria Jose, Manindr Kaur, sarabjit Kaur, Jaspal Kaur, Praveen Chhuneja, satinder Kaur, SR Rakshit, Dharminder Bhatia, Sandeep Sharma, Ranvir Gill and JS Lore. Under theme 3, out of a total of 110 posters, the following winners were awarded; Tarandeep Singh, Aseem Verma, Manjit Singh and Jugminder Kaur, Gurjinderpal Jeet Kaur, Jawala Jindal, Radhika Sharma, Jagjit Chand Sharma, and Upender Singh.